Erasmus Policy Statement 2021-2027 of Burgas Free University 

Burgas Free University has been awarded the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) for the full duration of the Erasmus+ programme 2021-2027. The ECHE provides the general quality framework for European and international cooperation activities to be carried out within the Programme. 

The new Erasmus+ programme 2021-2027 provides opportunities for study periods abroad, traineeships, apprenticeships, and staff exchanges in all fields of education, training, youth and sport. It is open to school pupils, higher education and vocational education and training students, adult learners, youth exchanges, youth workers and sport coaches.


With a budget of €26.2 billion, (compared to €14.7 billion for 2014-2020), complemented with about €2.2 billion from EU's external instruments, the new and revamped programme will fund learning mobility and cross-border cooperation projects for 10 million Europeans of all ages and all backgrounds over the next 7 years.

It will seek to be even more inclusive and to support the green and digital transitions, as set out in the European Education Area. Erasmus+ will also support the resilience of education and training systems in the face of the pandemic.


Erasmus+ is the EU programme for Education, Training, Youth and Sport.

It replaces seven programmes bringing together the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius and Grundtvig), the Youth in Action programme, five international cooperation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, the programme for cooperation with industrialised countries).

Erasmus + provides grants for a wide range of actions and activities in the fields of education, training, youth and sport. The programme gives opportunities to students, trainees, staff and volunteers to spend a period abroad to increase their skills and employability. It supports organisations to work in transnational partnership and to share innovative practices in the fields of education, training and youth.

The key actions of the Erasmus + programme are:

  • Key Action 1 – Learning Mobility of Individuals;
  • Key Action 2 – Cooperation for innovation and the exchange of good practices;
  • Key Action 3 – Support for policy reforms.

The countries participating in the Erasmus+ programme are the 28 Member States of the European Union, as well as the non EU countries - Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Turkey and Republic of Macedonia (Programme countries).
Since 2015 there is a new international dimension in the Erasmus+ programme: International Credit Mobility. Erasmus+ now offers opportunities for individuals to study, work or teach in other parts of the world – in Asia, Africa, America, the EU Neighbouring countries. These are called Partner countries. It also makes the same opportunities available for students from those areas to come to study in higher education institutions in Europe.



Erasmus Policy Statement 2014-2020 of Burgas Free University